Tuesday, February 16, 2016

Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys

6
Love, love, loved it!  At first, I thought I would never be able to keep the characters straight because each chapter is from a different character, but oh, it wasn't a problem.  You get attached.  You want them to prevail.  Well, except for that one annoying one.  I will let you figure it out.  The one you will roll your eyes at and want to punch.  This is a WWII historical fiction...one of my favorite topics.  It's a fast read and one I think you will not regret reading.

Summary:
World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia, and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, almost all of them with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in one another tested with each step closer toward safety.

Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people aboard must fight for the same thing: survival.

Told in alternating points of view, and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize-winning All the Light We Cannot See, Erik Larson's #1 NYT bestseller Dead Wake, and Elizabeth Wein's Printz Honor Book Code Name Verity, this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the Wilhelm Gustloff--the greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity can prevail, even in the darkest of hours.

1 comment:

Vader's Mom said...

My favorite genre of reading as well - I added this one too. (You aren't helping!!)