Wednesday, July 27, 2016

The Girls by Emma Cline

44
I started this book yesterday and finished it tonight.  I had no idea what to expect.  It was my pick from the book of the month club selections for July.  It takes a little bit to get accustomed to the writing style but after the first 50 pages, I was hooked.  Or maybe fascinated is a better description.  It is set in the summer of '69 and historical fiction based on the cult of Manson.  It's probably not for everyone and certainly not for the younger readers, but I really liked it.

Summary from Barnes and Noble:
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • An indelible portrait of girls, the women they become, and that moment in life when everything can go horribly wrong—this stunning first novel is perfect for readers of Jeffrey Eugenides’s The Virgin Suicides and Jennifer Egan’s A Visit from the Goon Squad.
Northern California, during the violent end of the 1960s. At the start of summer, a lonely and thoughtful teenager, Evie Boyd, sees a group of girls in the park, and is immediately caught by their freedom, their careless dress, their dangerous aura of abandon. Soon, Evie is in thrall to Suzanne, a mesmerizing older girl, and is drawn into the circle of a soon-to-be infamous cult and the man who is its charismatic leader. Hidden in the hills, their sprawling ranch is eerie and run down, but to Evie, it is exotic, thrilling, charged—a place where she feels desperate to be accepted. As she spends more time away from her mother and the rhythms of her daily life, and as her obsession with Suzanne intensifies, Evie does not realize she is coming closer and closer to unthinkable violence.
Emma Cline’s remarkable debut novel is gorgeously written and spellbinding, with razor-sharp precision and startling psychological insight. The Girls is a brilliant work of fiction.

No comments: